DKSJ Exchange

The Directors' Conference of the Swiss Jazz Schools (DKSJ) is continuing a new partnership-based concert series with the Exchange Nights.


Good music needs to be heard:

Selected bachelor project bands from the jazz departments of the five music academies in Basel, Bern, Lausanne, Lucerne and Zurich present themselves with concerts in the cities of the partner schools.
With the Exchange Nights, the jazz departments of the five music colleges have created a platform for young talents from the Swiss jazz scene. This is where selected students meet, exchange ideas and present their final projects from the bachelor's degree on a small tour of Switzerland.

M.O.R.I (Zurich)

restless journey. jerky, impulsive mood changes. repetitive, meditative patterns. multi-layered, irregular rhythms. instrumental interaction. sometimes quiet, heartfelt, intimate. often deafening, inyourface, snotty. sometimes lean, reduced. sometimes diverse, rich. sometimes mathematically organized order. times randomly improvised without rules. multicolored imagination.

Marina Iten (as), Joa Frey (guitar), tba (b), Ramzi Hammad (dr)

Emotions in Motion

The members of the Baptiste Stanek Trio combine their individual strengths for a journey through different landscapes of jazz. The music between volcanic pulse, urban tension and the melancholy of the wilderness corresponds at the same time to a cartography of their inner spaces. 

Baptiste Stanek (sax), Tabea Kind (b), Václav Palka (dr)

Im Nu

Instantly, in a flash, jerkily, nothing to you, in a wink, in a trice. In a line-up similar to the Paul Motian Trio, we discover a world between acoustic and electronic sounds, blurring melodies and contrasting noises - it's a search for an unstable soundscape, for distant stillness and the opportunity to be in the blink of an eye.

Philippe Vögeli (git), Paul Butscher (flh, tp), Xavier Käser (dr) 

Vincent Schmidt

Lausann_Vincent_Schmidt(c)PascalSchmidt.jpg

Vincent Schmidt, a solo guitarist alternating between power and melancholy, expresses his emotions with his ten fingers. The bass is led by the thumb, the melody is narrated by the fingers, and the percussion is played by those who are still available. He takes us into a poetic universe with his acoustic guitar. At the age of 24, Vincent released his second solo album "Between Hope And Fire" in May 2019. However, he will also perform tracks from his debut album, Feelings, and will not forget to present some tracks by Tommy Emmanuel, his biggest influence.

Vincent Schmidt (guitar/voc)

Maurice Storrer Quartet

Bild Luzern_Maurice Storrer Quartett.jpg

The Maurice Storrer Quartet builds on the aesthetics of traditional jazz from the 1950s and 1960s. With influences from swing, cool jazz and hard bop, the band revives the music of that time. Accompanied by the colorful richness of harmony of classical jazz, a varied, energetic music is created, which stimulates to dream, think and snap along.

Maurice Storrer (sax), Felix Geidel (p), Marius Sommer (ba), Aaron Leutenegger (dr)

DKSJ Exchange

Die Direktorenkonferenz der Schweizerischen Jazzschulen (DKSJ) setzt mit den Exchange Nights eine neue partnerschaftliche Konzertreihe fort.


Gute Musik muss gehört werden:

Ausgewählte Bachelor-Projekt-Bands der Jazzabteilungen der fünf Musikhochschulen Basel, Bern, Lausanne, Luzern und Zürich präsentieren sich mit Konzerten in den Städten der Partnerschulen.
Mit den Exchange Nights haben die Jazzabteilungen der fünf Musikhochschulen eine Plattform für junge Talente der Schweizer Jazzszene geschaffen. Hier treffen sich ausgewählte Studierende, tauschen sich aus und präsentieren ihre Abschlussprojekte des Bachelor-Studiengangs auf einer kleinen Tournee durch die Schweiz.

M.O.R.I (Zurich)

rastlose reise. ruckartige, impulsive moodchanges. repetitive, meditative muster. mehrschichtige, irreguläre rhythmen. instrumentale interaktion. manchmal ruhig, innig, intim. oft ohrenbetäubend, inyourface, rotzig. mal mager, reduziert. mal mannigfaltig, reichhaltig. mal mathematisch organisierte ordnung. mal random improvisiert ohne regeln. mehrfarbige imagination.

Marina Iten (as), Joa Frey (guit), tba (b), Ramzi Hammad (dr)

Emotions in Motion

Die Mitglieder des Baptiste Stanek Trios vereinen ihre individuellen Kräfte für die Reise durch verschiedene Landschaften des Jazz. Die Musik zwischen vulkanischem Puls, urbaner Spannung und der Melancholie der Wildnis entspricht gleichzeitig einer Kartographie ihrer inneren Räume. 

Baptiste Stanek (sax), Tabea Kind (b), Václav Palka (dr)

Im Nu

Augenblicklich, blitzartig, ruckartig, mir nichts dir nichts, in einem Wink, im Nu. In einer Besetzung ähnlich des Paul Motian Trios entdecken wir eine Welt zwischen akustischen und elektronischen Sounds, verwischenden Melodien und gegensätzlichen Geräuschen - es ist die Suche einer instabilen Klangwelt, nach ferner Stille und der Gelegenheit im Nu zu sein.

Philippe Vögeli (git), Paul Butscher (flh, tp), Xavier Käser (dr) 

Vincent Schmidt

Lausann_Vincent_Schmidt(c)PascalSchmidt.jpg

Vincent Schmidt, ein zwischen Kraft und Melancholie wechselnder Sologitarrist, drückt seine Emotionen mit seinen zehn Fingern aus. Der Bass wird vom Daumen geführt, die Melodie von den Fingern erzählt und die Perkussion von denen gespielt, die noch verfügbar sind. Er nimmt uns mit seiner Akustikgitarre in ein poetisches Universum mit. Mit seinen 24 Jahren hat Vincent im Mai 2019 sein zweites Soloalbum "Between Hope And Fire" veröffentlicht. Er wird jedoch auch Stücke aus seinem ersten Album "Feelings" vortragen und nicht vergessen, einige Stücke von Tommy Emmanuel, seinem größten Einfluss, zu präsentieren.

Vincent Schmidt (guit/voc)

Maurice Storrer Quartet

Bild Luzern_Maurice Storrer Quartett.jpg

Das Maurice Storrer Quartett knüpft an die Ästhetik des traditionellen Jazz der 50er- und 60er Jahre an. Mit Einflüssen von Swing, Cool Jazz und Hardbop lässt die Band die Musik der damaligen Zeit neu aufleben. Untermalt vom farbigen Harmoniereichtum des klassischen Jazz entsteht eine abwechslungsreiche, energiegeladene Musik, die zum Träumen, Denken und Mitschnipsen anregt.

Maurice Storrer (sax), Felix Geidel (p), Marius Sommer (ba), Aaron Leutenegger (dr)